Since its inception in 1905, Louie’s is an ever evolving landmark with a fascinating history. Louis Zwerlein, the founder began with a barge called “Kare Killer” which was an oasis during the summer months for the nautical public in search of a fabulous cocktail. Patrons ventured to ”Kare Killer“ by boat only, the setting offered a spectacular view of approaching boats. On occasion, a husband spotting his wife and her wrath, on course for the barge, had a fabulous escape hatch…a dive off the barge for a swim heading towards Great Neck.
When prohibition descended upon all of us in 1920, the Kare Killer business was reinvented and relocated to a spot adjacent to the town dock. They rented boats, and sold chowder and other seafood. As business grew, what is now known as Louie’s, was comfortably nestled on the Main Street waterfront. Further expansion happened in 1954, when a local blacksmith shop was transformed into additional restaurant space.
Every great brand has to continue to evolve. In 2002, Louie’s underwent a complete and spectacular renovation. Louie’s Oyster Bar & Grille began a new century completely transformed; offering its patrons an elegant and tasteful dining experience coupled with the freshest and finest seafood and American style dishes.
Our classically trained culinary team has redesigned the kitchen and the menu by adding an eclectic flair. Louie’s Grill & Liquors, the new name, which recalls and honors its original stomping grounds while simultaneously continuing to herald in an unfolding era of dining.
Join us 7 days a week, for a great cocktail, delicious food and a spectacular view with friends, colleagues, or family! Ample parking for your car or boat!